Cindy Cain and Friends at The Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame

cindy cain web

Cindy Cain Brings Love to the Jazz Depot this Sunday

Featuring Guest Vocalist Brett Yeakey 

            Back in March of this year, taking the stage for her first Jazz Depot show as a headliner, singer Cindy Cain added some new lyrics to Cole Porter’s classic tune “Don’t Fence Me In” to explain how her concert wouldn’t be strictly jazz-oriented.

“This is the first solo show I’ve had at the Jazz Hall,” she said then, “and I wanted to show some diversity.”

This time around, she’s using another classic pop tune, the 1939 Billie Holiday hit “Comes Love,” to illustrate her musical intentions. And for her second Jazz Depot show, she says, the emphasis is on jazz and standards.

“I just decided that I’d done a panoply of genres on the March show, so I wanted this one to be pretty much a straight jazz show. I’m singing some songs that I had on my first CD, back in 1998, and some from when I was singing at weddings with a horn band, like `Ain’t That a Kick in the Head.’ We’ll only have one horn at the show, but I think it’ll work just fine.

“I’m also doing some tunes that are new to me, like `Orange Colored Sky,’ `Everybody Loves My Baby,’ and `Hey There,’ that Scott McQuade is charting for me.”

The busy McQuade is also scheduled to play piano for the show, along with Tommy Poole on saxophone, Bill Crosby on bass, and Wade Robertson on drums.

“I’m going to have Brett Yeakey as a special guest vocalist,” she notes. “I’ve known him for years, and I knew that he’d started singing in church and then went on to Broadway-styled productions like Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Peter Pan, The King and I, andCamelot. I also knew he’d worked with the Council Oak Men’s Chorale and Theatre Tulsa.

“So one evening about two or three months ago, he’d been helping me get my songs up on iTunes, and we were sitting around with glasses of wine, ruminating. He said, `You know, I’d love to sing with you sometime.” I thought for a minute and then I said, `Well, I may have the opportunity for you.’

“We had a rehearsal, and he recorded it on his iPhone and then sent me the files to listen to – and when we were trading lines, it was hard to tell us apart. Our voices are in the same timbre. It’s not exactly Louis [Armstrong] and Ella [Fitzgerald].”

For one of his solos Sunday, however, Yeakey plans to do a version of an Armstrong classic, “What A Wonderful World.”

“We’ll do Louis Prima and Keely Smith’s “Hey Boy, Hey Girl’ as a duet, and Brett’s singing `What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve,’” Cain adds.

The latter is one of the holiday numbers scheduled for Sunday. However, Cain says, what she and her musical cohorts present then doesn’t really focus on songs of the season.

“The show’s called Comes Love, and it’s about love lost, love desired, love in all its forms, with a sprinkling of holiday songs: `Santa, Baby,’ `I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm.’ That one may not exactly be a Christmas song, but it alludes to winter and overcoats.”

As she notes, the numbers in the show are bound together by their emphasis on love in its various forms. But virtually all of them fit nicely into the jazz idiom as well. This time around, that’s just fine for Cain, who deeply appreciates the audiences that come to see her and other area musicians at the Jazz Depot.

“It’s great to be singing for folks who are true aficionados of jazz,” she says. “They’re all there to listen, and that’s probably the most supportive crowd you could ever have.”

In addition to starring in her own Jazz Depot shows, Cain also joins Pam Van Dyke Crosby and Rebecca Ungerman in the vocal trio for the twice-monthly Sweet & Hot Dances at the Depot. Next up on the Sweet & Hot docket is the Santa Baby Ball, set for Friday, December 21. Backed by a four-piece band, the singers begin at 7:30 p.m.

Admission is $10 at the door.

Meanwhile, Cindy Cain’s Comes Love is scheduled begin Sunday at 5 p.m. at the Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame, located in downtown Tulsa’s Jazz Depot, 111 E. First St.

Tickets can be purchased at the Depot or by calling Bettie Downing at 918-281-8609. General admission is $15, reserved table seating $20. Seniors and Jazz Hall members are admitted for $10, and high school and junior high students for $5.  Refreshments will be available for purchase.

Cain’s show is a part of the Jazz Hall’s Winter Concert Series.

The Oklahoma Jazz Hall of Fame is a 501(c)(3) non-profit cultural and educational organization, with a mission to inspire creativity and improve the quality of life for all Oklahomans through preservation, education, and performance of jazz, our uniquely American art form.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

